Skip to Page Content

Event Details

    Shoals Chapter Monthly Meeting

    Date: February 27, 2014, 11:30am – 1:00pm
    Shoals Chapter #0700
    City of Muscle Shoals Golf and Tennis (Cypress Lakes)
    1131 East Sixth Street, Muscle Shoals, AL
    $12 for members,$15 for non-members,Free for members who purchase the 2014 package deal
    Event Type:
    iCal link
    Add to Calendar

    Please RSVP by emailing by phone (256) 765-4289 Or

    Speaker: JEFFREY L. ROTH practices in the areas of employment law; commercial and contract law; general corporate law; business transactional and regulatory law; and governmental contracting. For twenty years previous to joining Fees & Burgess, Mr. Roth held senior in-house corporate counsel positions with numerous international electronic manufacturing firms, including Avco Electronics TEXTRON; AVEX Electronics, Inc.; Benchmark Electronics, Inc.; and Sanmina-SCI Corporation. In his role as in-house corporate counsel, Mr. Roth served as a global corporate resource for management in the areas of human resources; intellectual property; supply chain management; mergers and acquisitions; contract negotiation; and dispute resolution.

    Fair Labor Standards Workshop:   Common Pitfalls in Wage and Hour Compliance

    We will be educated on the important aspects and compliance of being an employer-ensuring you are paying both your nonexempt AND exempt employees correctly

    Jeff Roth will inform  on the History of some and misconception  of and Covered Employees, then coach and advise us on how to overcome 10 common Wage and Hour pitfalls. Some of the topics we will discuss will include:  Payroll Deductions, Tips for Dealing with Unauthorized Overtime, Miscalculating Exemptions, Discretion and Independent Judgment, Use of Employee Releases Deductions for Safety Violations . Topics  and many more.

    Please invite other employers who may need to attend this workshop to ensure proper compliance in 2014!

    We have applied for HRCI credits.

    2014 Board Members

    •        President:  Jenny Kennedy

    •        Immediate Past President:  Matt Oglesby

    •        VP Membership:  Crystal Wilson

    •        Treasurer:  Christina Lewis

    •        Secretary:  Dawn Clark

    •        At-large Member:  Amy Jones

    •        At-large Member:  Amy Bishop